Successful ARGANZ 2022 meeting

Successful ARGANZ 2022 meeting

The ARGANZ 2022 meeting was run successfully as a hybrid event over the weekend.  It was a pleasure to see many onsite at the ICC in Sydney for a day of workshops and the 2 day meeting.  We had approx. 380 registered delegates, with over 130 attending in person.  



Inspiring lectures from our international faculty were greatly appreciated, and it was wonderful to have Alberto Vargas in Sydney. We also managed to negotiate the last minute COVID quarantining of some speakers. Our local faculty again showed the strength of abdominal imaging in Australia and New Zealand.  All lectures generated conversation and potential practice changing tips. 

Congratulations to Mendleson Research Prize winner, Dr Huey Ming Seah from the Royal Adelaide Hospital for her presentation on "Assessment of a single pass venous phase CT chest, abdomen and pelvis and dual energy CT in general oncology outpatients"  2nd prize was awarded to Dr Arpit Talwar from St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne, who presented on "Non-prostate cancer tumours: Incidence on 18F-DCFPyL PSMA PET/CT and uptake characteristics in 1445 patients."

Popular poster vote winner was Dr Xiao Xin Tee from Monash Health, Melbourne for the poster "Non-neoplastic cholangiopathies – A pictorial review".  

At the ARGANZ AGM, Outgoing chair Dr Tom Sutherland announced Dr Jessica Yang as new ARGANZ chair, and we welcomed new members Dr Teng Han Tan (VIC), Dr Dean Rabinowitz (NSW) and Dr Arj Somasundaram (QLD).  A big thank you to retiring treasurer Dr Warwick Thomas for his great contributions to ARGANZ.  Dr Kirsten Gormly was awarded Life membership of ARGANZ in recognition of her significant contributions.  

We look forward to welcoming you to Adelaide in 2023 and offering more online workshops during 2022.  Please follow us social media for regular updates on issues relevant to abdominal radiology.